Monday, April 20, 2015

Six Earlier Days by David Levithan

Book Summary
In Every Day, New York Times bestselling author David Levithan presented readers with his most ambitious novel to date: Every morning, A wakes up in a different body and leads a different life. A must never get too attached, must never be noticed, must never interfere. 
The novel Every Day starts on Day 5994 of A’s life. In this digital-only collection Six Earlier Days, Levithan gives readers a glimpse at a handful of the other 5993 stories yet to be told that inform how A navigates the complexities of a life lived anew each day. 
In Every Day, readers discover if you can truly love someone who is destined to change every day. In Six Earlier Days, readers will discover a little bit more about how A became that someone.
Fans of Levithan’s books such as Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, co-written with Rachel Cohn, and Will Grayson, Will Grayson, co-written with John Green, will not want to miss A’s adventures in Every Day and Six Earlier Days

Flo's Review
I read Every Day as an ARC and I loved it. I'm not sure how I discovered the existence of this little novella, but likely it was while playing around on Goodreads. With a trip coming up, I downloaded it to my Kindle for an easy airplane read. It was okay. It consisted of about 4 of A's days in different bodies and the types of situations he finds himself in.  Like the blurb says, I guess these 4 particular days were chosen because they illustrate how A handles his life and the emotional effect everyone else's lives have on him. 

But to me it just felt like 4 chapters that were cut out of Every Day. I guess I was hoping for it to be the type of novella that has a story to it, and it isn't really. There's no beginning, or end, or middle. Just four random days in the life of A.

A companion book to Every Day entitled Another Day is coming out later this year. I'm looking forward to that book giving me more to feed my craving for A.

No comments :

Post a Comment